Seven running for 3 seats in Clewiston

CLEWISTON — Seven candidates will be facing off for the three open seats on the Clewiston City Commission this fall.

All three incumbent commissioners whose terms are up in the 2018 general election have filed for re-election: M. “Mali” Soto Gardner; Kristine Petersen; and Phillip Roland.
They are challenged by four other candidates who qualified by the June 22 deadline: Kevin McCarthy, Melanie McGahee, Jimmy Pittman and Lance “Bubba” Ramer.

The two candidates receiving the highest vote total will be elected for a four-year term, and the candidate receiving the third-most votes is elected for a two-year term. The mayor and vice mayor will be chosen during an organizational meeting of the new commission on Dec. 3.

Election Day is Nov. 6. County supervisors of elections are required to have early voting from Oct. 27 through Nov. 3 for the general election this year; however, each county in Florida also may choose up to three additional days to allow early voting, during the week of Oct. 22-26 and/or Nov. 4. Check with the Hendry County supervisor’s office for dates. If voting by mail, ballots must be postmarked between Oct. 2 and Oct. 9.

The deadline to register in order to be able to vote in the November election is Oct. 9.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment