The Clewiston News

Basquin, Busin keep School Board seats

HENDRY COUNTY — Incumbent School Board members Jon Basquin and Stephanie Schneider Busin won re-election by comfortable margins during the Hendry County primary elections on Tuesday, Aug. 28.

In the nonpartisan election, for the School Board District 4 seat, Ms. Busin received 873 votes (70 percent) to 374 for Mercedes Perdomo Reese; and for the School Board District 5 seat, Mr. Basquin took 307 (57 percent) to 233, or 43 percent, for Maureen C. Quintero.

Total ballots cast in the primary elections were 4,223 countywide, out of 17,627 registered voters, of whom 3,435 were not registered as members of either the Democratic or Republican party and thus could vote only in nonpartisan races. Turnout percentages were not available Tuesday night.

On Hendry County’s ballot question concerning economic development ad valorem tax exemptions, 2,476 voted yes (62 percent) while 1,535, or 38 percent, voted no.

For 20th Judicial Circuit judge in Group 8, John Owen McGowan took 2,172 votes (59 percent) to James Wesley Chandler’s 1,538 (41 percent).