Commissioner Swindle returned to seat

Harris faces Diaz in District 2; School Board has two races

When the qualifying period closed on June 22 for the elections taking place this year, Hendry County Commissioner Michael Swindle had drawn no opponent for his County Board District 4 seat, so he will retain the office for another term.

The incumbent Republican represents the Clewiston area. His fellow incumbent Republican whose seat is up for election, District 2 County Commissioner Darrell Harris, will face one opponent, Kenneth C. Diaz of LaBelle, who has no party affiliation, in the Nov. 6 election.

There are several candidates in the race for Hendry County School Board seats who will face off in the nonpartisan election coinciding with the Aug. 28 primary.

Amanda Nelson of Felda retains her District 3 seat on the School Board, having drawn no opponent.

The other two school board seats up for election are in District 4, where incumbent Stephanie Schneider Busin faces Mercedes Perdomo Reese; and in District 5, where board member Jon Basquin faces Maureen Cervino Quintero. All the candidates live in Clewiston.

For the Hendry County Hospital Board, there will be no races, as incumbent Steven A. Nisbet Sr. of LaBelle in District 2 retains his seat with no opponent; and Elaine Wood, who filed and qualified to run in District 4, also drew no opposition. Both are thus declared elected to the seats.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment