Tigers romp to win Harvest Bowl, 49-10

The Tigers won the Harvest Bowl for the second year in a row, defeating Immokalee 49-10 on Sept. 4.

The Tigers won the Harvest Bowl for the second year in a row, defeating Immokalee 49-10 on Sept. 4.

On a night that didn’t get off to a promising start on a couple of fronts at Cane Field, Clewiston got into game form pretty quickly and walloped Immokalee in a 49-10 lopsided contest.  The win enables the Tigers to retain the Harvest Bowl trophy for another year.

First, it was the rain.  A torrential downpour passed over the city about an hour before kickoff and the wet field and lightning caused a 30-minute delay of the kickoff.  Then after holding the Indians on three-and-out on their first possession, the ensuing Immokalee punt bounced off Tiger returner Tyrin Summers and was recovered by Immokalee at the Clewiston 34.  The Indians, aided by two Tiger penalties, drove to the one yard line but the defense held and forced a 22 yard field goal by Gary Garcia.

Immokalee’s kickoff was snatched up by Jahlin Humphries and returned 42 yards to mid-field.  Tyrin Summers reeled off a 23 yard reverse and then quarterback Davis Witt hit flanker Reginald Henderson on a 40 yard scoring pass, with Henderson rolling over two defenders for the score.

Clewiston was knocking at the door again late in the opening period and tailback Menta Jones rambled 23 yards for the touchdown.  Jones had a pair of 9 yard runs on the 58 yard drive and Witt had completions of 9 and 14 yards to Andre Taylor and Henderson.  Colt Flynn, again perfect on the night, knocked through the point after to advance the Tigers to a 14-3 lead.

The Tigers added two more touchdowns in the second period.  Jones scored the first on an 18-yard run and set up the second score with runs of 40 and 19 yards.  Zachary Seale scored the second touchdown on a 1 yard dive.  Clewiston went to intermission with a 28-3 lead.

On the night, Jones put on an impressive rushing performance with 196 yards on 17 carries and the three touchdowns.  After the game, he had high praise for his line saying, “I can’t say enough about the great blocking they gave us tonight.  We came out hyped up for Immokalee, wanting to keep that trophy, and everything just clicked for us.”

The second half was virtually all Tigers.  Jones scored his final touchdown with 8:56 remaining in the third on a one yard smash.  On their next offensive series, Seale punched in a score from three yards out.

Sandwiched between those third period Tiger scoring drives, Immokalee speedster Fred Green pulled in Flynn’s kickoff at the three and raced virtually untouched 97 yards for the Indians only touchdown of the evening.

In the final period, the Tiger scoring closed out with a 20 yard sweep by tailback Isaiah Jackson.  Summers 29 yard punt return had put Clewiston in great field position at the Indian 40.  The 49-10 score dictated a running clock for the last 6 minutes of the contest.

The Clewiston defense was impressive, holding Immokalee to less than 100 yards of total offense, with 55 rushing and 42 passing.   Tiger coach Pete Walker was excited about his defense, “While we were in good control with our offense, our defense just played outstanding ball tonight against a pretty good football team.”

The defensive effort involved just about everyone on that side of the ball.   Immokalee managed only six first downs, with two of those coming as a result of Tiger penalties. Junior defensive end Jadan Thompson had 4 solo tackles, with a quarterback sack and two tackles for losses.  Linebacker Teandre Johnson also had 4 solos, an assist, a tackle for a loss and a fumble recovery.

The Class 5A Indians, in a rebuilding state under new head coach Dale More, were just outgunned by the Tigers.  However, they played hard all night and made Clewiston earn their scores in short yardage situations.

Immokalee      3      0       7      0     10
Clewiston       14    14     14     7      49


1Q:  Immokalee:  Gary Garcia 22 FG

Clewiston: Reginald Henderson 40 pass from Davis Witt, Kick Colt Flynn

Clewiston:  Menta’ Jones 23 run, Kick Colt Flynn

2Q: Clewiston:  Menta’ Jones 18 run, Kick Colt Flynn

Clewiston:  Zachary Seale 1 run, Kick Colt Flynn

3Q:  Clewiston:  Menta’ Jones 1 run, Kick Colt Flynn

Immokalee:  Fred Green 97 KO return, Kick Gary Garcia

Clewiston:  Zachary Seale 3 run, Kick Colt Flynn

4Q:  Clewiston:  Isaiah Jackson 20 run, Kick Colt Flynn

Individual Stats

Rushing:  Clewiston:  Menta’ Jones 17/196; Isaiah Jackson 3/32; Tyrin Summers 1/23; Zachary Seale 6/17; Maurice Murphy 5/19; Davis Witt 1/9.  Immokalee:  Fred Green 8/29; Malcolm Jackson 8/21/; John Garza 4/11; Mac Joseph 4/-9.

Passing:  Clewiston:  Davis Witt 14/10/0  124.  Immokalee:  Mac Joseph 10/6/0 42.

Receiving:   Clewiston:  Reginald Henderson 4/80; Tyrin Summers 3/21; Andre Taylor 1/9; Anthony Walker 1/7; Menta’ Jones 1/7.  Immokalee:  Ramiro Gutierrez 1/23; Wesley Charles 1/9; John Garza 2/5; Jean Sanon 1/5; Stephan Julien 1/0.

[slideshow_deploy id=’747′]

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment